top of page

Emerging Sculptor Award 2019

‘Eye of the Beholder’ by Jo Holt

Each year, Surrey Sculpture Society offers an ‘Emerging Sculptor of the Year’ award of £500 to a sculpture student at the year-end exhibition of The Art Academy, London Bridge.

The exhibition took place on 20th June 2019. Work was judged by SSS Committee members, Gill Lawson and Janet Morton on the following criteria:

  • Development of skill in the chosen technique

  • Imaginative use of 3D materials

  • How effectively the sculptural language reflects the intention for the piece.

The students presented the judges with a difficult choice between 12 pieces of imaginative and well-displayed work.

The prize money of £500 will be given to the winner who will also be given a year’s free membership of Surrey Sculpture Society and the opportunity to exhibit at an SSS exhibition in 2020.

The 2019 winner is Jo Holt for ‘Eye of the Beholder’.

Jo’s ceramic piece is about changing perception as well as making a comment about the tragedy of coral bleaching and a celebration of biofluorescence. The judges recognized the skill in creating the shapes, the imaginative use of the light and the effective sculptural language conveying the intentions of the piece.

There were two runners-up:

  • Masa Travljanin for ‘Inverted’. The three frames contained embroidered latex ‘skin’ and other materials. The judges liked the imaginative framing showing the embroidering aspect of self presentation, the self-reflective aspect and the self-enhancing aspect.

  • Alexandra Rendel Short for ‘Beginning of Life’. The judges liked the overall representation of the idea of DNA, and the similarities and individual difference in the coils, as well as the imperfections.

The judges would like to thank the other students taking part in the exhibition, who were:

  • Farnoush Amini – Where the Sound Dies

  • Glynis Double – Special Man

  • Gerdien Halfman – The Men

  • Teresa Hedderwick – Eyes are the Window to the Soul

  • Dian Nathan-Marsh - Lithe

  • Livia Spinolo - Unity

  • Charlotte Smith – Becoming a becoming

  • Ruth Swain – Shopping for Perfection

  • Richa Vora – Plastic Intrusion

  • Simon Yates – Cut and Paste

Special thanks to Aimee Brigginshaw for preparing the entrants list and the hospitality.

Janet Morton and Gill Lawson

'Inverted' by Masa Travljanin and 'Beginning of Life' by Alexandra Rendel

bottom of page